Celebrating 125 years: Our UU Winnipeg History
February 1st 1891 – The First Icelandic Unitarian Society under Rev. Björn Pétursson and Jennie McCaine Peterson was created, after years of missionary work with Icelandic immigrants, with a church at the corner of Sherbrook and Pacific.
In 1894 the Winnipeg Tabernacle (Lutheran) also served the Icelandic community and over time they shifted to a progressively liberal, Universalist perspective. In 1920 the Winnipeg Tabernacle amalgamated with the Unitarians to form First Federated Church and moved to our longtime home at Sargent and Banning.
All Souls Church formed in 1904 at Furby and Westminster. All Souls had a rich history in supporting the labour movement. In the 1930s All Souls began sharing space with First Federated and during the Second World War, All Souls and First Federated merged together, offering English services on Sunday mornings and Icelandic services in the evening at Sargent and Banning.
Known as the Unitarian Church in the 1950s we were recognized for advocacy on progressive social issues. In the 1990s our congregation became the First Unitarian Universalist Church of Winnipeg. After some years of temporary worship space and much sweat equity we celebrated our new sanctuary at 603 Wellington Crescent in 2001.